Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act (2010) harmonises and strengthens existing Equality Legislation to bring under one umbrella Act.

Covers all aspects of employment and services, Identifies 'protected characteristics' covered by the law, they include:

  • Gender, Maternity, Marital status, Transgender 
  • Age; 
  • Disability; 
  • Ethnicity; 
  • Sexual Orientation; 
  • Religion and Belief

Key Messages of Equality Act (2010)

  • The Equality Act includes secondary legislation setting out the Public Sector Equality Duty that consists of a General and a Specific Duty;
  • Both the Act and the Public Sector Equality Duty applies to all aspects of employment, goods and services, partnerships and procurement.

3 Aims of Equality Duty

The Equality Duty has 3 key aims and requires public bodies to have due regard to the need to:

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation;
  • Advance equality of opportunity between different groups; 
  • Foster good relations between different groups.

Having due regard means consciously thinking about the 3 key aims of the Equality Duty as part of the process of decision making.  This means that consideration of equality issues must influence the decisions reached by public bodies - such as in how they act as employers, how they develop, evaluate and review policy; how they design, deliver and evaluate services and how they commission and procure from others.

Useful links

Further information can be sought from: