Access Keys:

Skip main menu

County Council Elections - Thursday 4 June 2009

County Election Results

See the local election results here

Cumbria County Council has 84 Elected Members, each representing a single electoral division of the County.  Presently, the Council is constituted as follows:- 39 Labour Members, 32 Conservative Members, 10 Liberal Democrat Members and 3 Independent Members.

The County Returning Officer is Diane Wood, Corporate Director - Resources, Cumbria County Council.  Day to day responsibilities for the elections rests with Martin Kennedy, Election Management and Results Centre Coordinator acting on behalf of the County Returning Officer.  The organisational arrangements for the elections are made on the County Council's behalf by the six Borough/District Councils within Cumbria.

Information includes:-

  • A brief overview of the arrangements for the European Parliamentary Elections to be held on Thursday 4 June 2009
  • Guidance and information on the County Council election process, procedure and timetable before polling day on Thursday 4 June 2009
  • A database of all election information
  • Real-time election results service on Friday 5 June 2009 as the counts are confirmed, statistics on turnout, percentage of votes for each party etc
  • Some facts, figures and analysis after the declaration of the election results on Friday 5 June 2009
  • A comparison with the previous County election results in May 2005


Diane Wood
County Returning Officer
1 May 2009


Page Author: Martin Kennedy
Phone: 01228 226358

Page Editor: Allison Wright
Phone: 01228 226369

Page Refresh Date: N/A