Access Keys:

Community Land Trusts

Skip main menu

Community Land Trusts (CLTs) are not for profit organisations based in and run by the community, they seek to achieve the development of key community assets to help communities become stronger and more independent. 

A number of Cumbrian communities are already using the Community Land Trust approach to help achieve these positive outcomes. Current examples include: 

         Crosby Ravensworth in the Eden Valley working on a pub rescue, energy generation, and locally run affordable housing. 

         Witherslack in South Lakeland rescued a pub, opened a village shop and are now working on self built affordable homes.

         Keswick Community Housing Trust emanating from joint working between church groups.  

In other parts of the country CLTs have provided community woodland, affordable work units and even a community farm. This is all part of the growing CLT movement taking off in the UK which is all part of the trend towards local action and empowerment. Evidence shows that where communities have success with a first project they develop the skills and capacity to go on to do other things.

To aid in the delivery of Community Land Trusts specialist support and funding guidance is available for the Carlisle rural area, the West Coast and most of the rest of the county. If you would like to find out more please contact the CLT Project Officer Andy Lloyd c/o Cumbria Rural Housing Trust, Redhills House, Redhills, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 0DT, Tel. 01768 210265, Mobile: 07525688662 CLT resources and news is also available at external link will open in a new window.

Andy is available to come out to your community or organisation to provide information, help you assess your ideas, and bring together the right partners to ensure successful implantation of projects.

The CLT Project Officer is financed by the Tudor Trust and by the European Agriculture Fund for Rural Development: Europe Investing in Rural Areas being delivered through the North West development Agency with Defra as the Managing Authority.


And previously by the Lake District National Park Authority; Eden District Council, South Lakeland District Council; South Lakeland LSP, Eden Housing Association, Westfield Housing Association & Carlisle City Council.