County Courts

The modern county courts were established in 1846.  There are differing opinions as to whether these were an innovation or a revival of the medieval sheriff's court.

England and Wales were divided into county court districts with a full-time judge appointed to each district.  The judge sat in different towns regularly, hearing small debt, bankruptcy and other civil cases.  Jurisdiction was gradually widened to include, for example, personal injury claims etc.

The most important records are the county court registers, containing brief details of parties, claims and findings.

County Court Registers:

Barrow and Ulverston County Courts

Brampton, Carlisle and Wigton County Courts

Whitehaven and Millom County Court

Cockermouth and Workington County Court