Cumbria Libraries Young People`s Services.

You are never too young to join the library Everyone is welcome from babies to teenagers.

We have loads of fantastic stuff you can borrow: 

  • board books
  • picture books and story books
  • graphic novels 
  • information books to help you with your homework and hobbies. 

If you are under 19 you can borrow up to 40 books and 6 talking books, and they are all FREE.
You can also borrow your favourite DVD, but you will have to pay a weekly charge.

If you like using computers all our libraries have computers that you can use free for up to an hour a day. But remember, if you are under 16 you will need your parent's or guardian's permission.

As well as having books and computers, the library is a great place to meet your friends and there is always lots going on including:

  • regular storytime and rhymetime sessions for under 5's
  • holiday storytime and activity sessions
  • reading groups for different ages
  • Summer Reading Challenge
  • homework clubs

Want to know more about Cumbria Libraries Young People's Services? Call or email the Young People's Librarian for your area:

Lauren Martin at Barrow Library
01229 407381 lauren.martin@cumbria.gov.uk   

Caroline Lunny at Carlisle Library 
01228 227324 caroline.lunny@cumbria.gov.uk    

Kate Holliday at Penrith Library 
01768 812103 kate.holliday@cumbria.gov.uk 

Frances Taylor at Kendal Library
01539 713528 frances.taylor@cumbria.gov.uk 

Rachel Wilkinson at Whitehaven Library 
01946 506394 rachel.wilkinson@cumbria.gov.uk 

Kathryn Lynn at Workington Library
01900 706173 kathryn.lynn@cumbria.gov.uk