Information for Early Years Providers

The Early Years Team at Cumbria County Council has a responsibility for ensuring that high quality early years and childcare provision is available and accessible to all families with young children. 

We offer support and advice to all settings that provide early education and childcare - this includes Childminders, Private Voluntary and Independent (PVI) Early Years Settings, Maintained Nursery Schools and Infant and Primary Schools. We also provide advice to registered Out of School Clubs that offer childcare.

We support the multi-agency Early Years Strategy in Cumbria, working with partner organisations across Health, Inclusion, Early Help and the Voluntary Sector in order to improve outcomes for children across the county. This includes supporting our Children's Centres and working in partnership to develop a network of Family Hubs in partnership with communities.

We aim to listen and learn from all of our Providers, as well as directly engaging with children and families in order to help make Cumbria the best place it can be to grow up in.

The Early Years Team works with settings and schools to enable them to continuously improve their Early Years Foundation Stage quality as judged by the Ofsted inspection:

Strategic Lead for Early Years

Katie Clarke - Countywidekatie.clarke@cumbria.gov.uk


Early Years and Childcare Team Managers 

Ann Breeze - Early Years Team Manager for Carlisle and Edenann.breeze@cumbria.gov.uk
Amanda MacDonald - Early Years Team Manager for South Lakes and Furnessamanda.macdonald@cumbria.gov.uk
Nicola Steels - Early Years Team Manager for Allerdale and Copelandnicola.steels@cumbria.gov.uk

 

Early Years Advisers/Area SENCO's

Allerdale and Copeland

Sue Segarsusan.segar@cumbria.gov.uk
Lis Bramwellelisabeth.bramwell@cumbria.gov.uk
Helen Parkerhelen.parker@cumbria.gov.uk
Dareneth Cook - Early Years Adviserdareneth.cook@cumbria.gov.uk
Karen Norman - Early Years Adviserkaren.norman@cumbria.gov.uk
Karen Rutterkaren.rutter@cumbria.gov.uk


Barrow and South Lakes

Mary Coopermary.cooper@cumbria.gov.uk
Margaret Thornleymargaret.thornley@cumbria.gov.uk
Rachel Ramsbottomrachel.ramsbottom@cumbria.gov.uk
Laura Kendall - Early Years Adviserlaura.kendall@cumbria.gov.uk
Heather Dakinheather.dakin@cumbria.gov.uk


Carlisle and Eden

Sue Huntersue.hunter@cumbria.gov.uk
Rachel Hogarthrachel.hogarth@cumbria.gov.uk
Karen Clarkekaren.clarke@cumbria.gov.uk
Emma Masseyemma.massey2@cumbria.gov.uk
Christine Blair - Early Years Adviserchristine.blair@cumbria.gov.uk


Childminder Advisers 

Karen Cove     karen.cove@cumbria.gov.uk

Project Officer

Joan Bradley     joan.bradley@cumbria.gov.uk


Business Adviser

Sian Horsley     sian.horsley@cumbria.gov.uk


Finance Officers

Deborah Percival  
Ailsa Witchell
deborah.percival@cumbria.gov.uk 
ailsa.witchell@cumbria.gov.uk

Children's Centres are places for children and their families.  They provide support for parents and carers and help them to access other services.

 


A training programme that aims to provide the children's workforce with the skills and knowledge they need to best support the children and young people in their care.

The Solihull parenting programme is available for FREE for all parents/carers in Cumbria and the more detailed practitioner training is also available for one year FREE of charge.

There are three courses which we hope you will want your teams to access:

Understanding Trauma - This course covers Type 1 and Type 2 trauma, the window of tolerance, going through a traumatic experience, neurology and trauma. Recognising trauma, recovery from trauma, and more...

Understanding Attachment - This course is for practitioners who want to understand more about attachment, and shows how containment and reciprocity underpin the quality of an attachment.

Understanding Brain Development - This course is for practitioners who want an introduction to brain development from the antenatal period to adolescence.

The password for all courses is WORDSWORTHPRF (valid until April 2022)

Current Early Years Training  for the early years sector.

 Title  Date  Size
11/05/2020 424k
11/05/2020 1055k
12/05/2020 575k
Information for childcare settings working with children with Special Educational Needs

 

 

Children in Cumbria will have the best possible start in life through a joined up approach between families and everyone who works with young children.

Healthy Families Cumbria Pledge